

EASTERN RANGES BOWLS REGION INC

Minutes of the ERBR Annual General Meeting Held at Heathmont Bowls Club 14th October 2024

1. Attendance

- 1.1. ERBR Board Members: Richard Sanzin (President and Chairman), Jim Toal, Maria Giramondo, Bruce Aumann, Jenny Holmes, Lyn Baker & Richard Sluggett
- 1.2. Laws and Umpires Committee: Adrian Goldsmith
- 1.3. Night Pennant Committee: Garry Pickering
- 1.4. Club Delegates representing the following 26 Clubs: Bayswater, Bennettswood, Berwick, Blackburn, Blackburn North, Box Hill RSL, Burwood District, Chirnside Park CC, Churchill Waverley Golf, Cockatoo, Croydon, Eastwood Golf, Ferntree Gully, Heatherdale Recreation, Heathmont, Mitcham, Monbulk, Mooroolbark, Mount Waverley, Mulgrave CC, Pakenham, Ringwood, Upwey-Tecoma, Vermont South, Warburton, Yarra Glen
- 1.5. Club Apologies: Boronia, Cardinia Waters, Yarra Junction, Ray Purdy (Croydon), Margaret Fehring (Blackburn Nth)
- 1.6. Proxies: Boronia
- 1.7. Clubs absent w/o apology: Ashburton, Healesville, Glen Waverley, Lilydale
- **1.8. Quorum:** the Secretary confirmed that attendance exceeded the minimum requirements for a quorum.

2. Minutes of previous Annual General Meeting

2.1. The Minutes of the ERBR Annual General Meeting held on 18 September 2023 were previously distributed. Confirmed as accurate. Moved: Croydon, Seconded: Eastwood. Approved.

3. Annual report

- 3.1. The 2023/24 Annual Report for the Eastern Ranges Bowls Region was received, and its contents accepted as tabled.
- 3.2. The Chairman asked for any questions on the Finance Report. There were none.
- 3.3. The Treasurer reported that the previous audit missed one bank account. That has now been fixed.
- 3.4. The Chairman reported that the Region was in a healthy financial state and the Board was looking into how further investment could be made into the Region to further its purposes.

4. Region Club Levy & Entry Fees

- 4.1. On the recommendation of the ERBR Board, it was resolved to fix the Region Club Levy at \$7.00 per member with playing rights and Championship Entry Fees at \$15.00 per participant for the 2024/25 financial year. Moved: Heatherdale, Seconded: Heathmont. Approved.
- 4.2. It was noted that Clubs will be billed only once this financial year.

5. Auditor

5.1. During the past financial year, the Region used Burke Bond Partners Pty Ltd to perform an audit review. The Chairman was comfortable with their rigour and advised that the Board recommended using BBP again for the current financial year. Moved: Yarra Glen, Seconded: Mooroolbark. Approved.

6. Election of Office Bearers

- 6.1. The President stood aside and the meeting was then chaired by the Returning Officer, Pam Arnot.
- 6.2. In accordance with the ERBR Constitution, all Board positions were deemed vacant.
- 6.3. Nomination for President had been received from Richard Sanzin.

- 6.4. Nomination for Secretary had been received from Jenny Holmes.
- 6.5. Nomination for Treasurer had been received from Richard Sluggett.
- 6.6. Nominations for Board positions had been received from Bruce Aumann, Maria Giramondo, Jim Toal and Lyn Baker.
- 6.7. The number of nominations received were fewer than the number of positions vacant. The Returning Officer moved that, in accordance with the Constitution, those nominated for positions be considered duly elected. Seconded: Ferntree Gully. Approved by a majority of Clubs present.
- 6.8. The President resumed chairing the meeting. He moved a vote of thanks to Pam for performing the role of Returning Officer. Seconded: Bayswater. Carried with acclamation.
- 6.9. The President asked for nominations from the floor for the vacant Board positions. None were made.

7. Appointment of Committee Members

- 7.1. The following Expressions of Interest for Committee Member positions for the 2024/25 financial year were received:
 - 7.1.1. Junior Development: Denise Huender, Matt Ottobre
 - 7.1.2. Championships: Doug Whorlow
 - 7.1.3. Laws & Umpiring: Adrian Goldsmith, Peter Bowman
 - 7.1.4. Night Pennant: Garry Pickering
 - 7.1.5. Region Sides: Paul Dodd, Rod Nicholson, Graeme Spencer, Jan MacGregor
- 7.2. On the basis that no further Expressions of Interest were put forward, the above persons were appointed unopposed.
- 7.3. It was noted that other Committee Members may be appointed as required by the Board.

8. Other Business

8.1. Life Membership

- 8.1.1. The President summarised the service given to the Region by Gordon Baker. Gordon stepped down as President last year and resigned from the Board this year due to ill health after performing more than ten years of service to ERBR.
- 8.1.2. The President advised that the Constitution Rule 5.1 provided for the creation of an extra category of region membership if approved by a General Meeting.
- 8.1.3. Motion: *That this General Meeting bestow Life Membership on Gordon* Baker. Moved: Richard Sanzin, Seconded: Pam Arnot. Carried unanimously and with acclamation.
- 8.2. There were no Notices of Motion received from Members.
- 9. There being no further business the meeting closed at 7.40 pm.

CONFIRMED THIS16thDAY OFOctober2024

Richard Sanzin

CHAIRMAN